I'm a new manager, what meeting cadence should I use?

I’ve just been promoted to be manager of a team of five engineers. I’ve been a senior in the team for a few years, but this is my first experience as a manager.

My biggest bugbear when I was an individual contributor was having too many meetings. Now I’m a manager I want to reduce the number of meetings, but I don’t want to miss anything important.

What do people recommend in terms of number of meetings, how to run them?

2 Likes

Try reducing structured meetings but allow more unstructured meetings. For example 30 mins a fortnight instead of 1 hour a week is 75 reduction. You should then have free time to meet about what matters :slight_smile: This obviously varies a lot in departments, roles etc. Have fun!

Make sure you don’t waste time or pad meetings to finish in the scheduled time. There is nothing worse that a 30 minute meeting that “pads out” to 60 because everyone knows an hour has been scheduled.

3 Likes

Does the cadence of meetings have to be locked in place? Have a plan, collaborate on it, and review the cadence plan periodically.

Also, what is the purpose of the meetings? Relationship building? Development? Project updates? I echo what @BatmanRay has said about format around having a mix of structured and unstructured meetings

As an idea, a meeting plan could alternate weekly between:

• 30 minutes: Relationship building + Project update
  • 60 minutes: Relationship building + Development Conversations

Over time you might move to:

• Fortnightly 60 minutes: Relationship building + Development Conversations
  • Unstructured catchups

Collaborate on it, try it on for size, then evaluate later on to ensure everybody is getting what they need. Most importantly, communicate that this is the process!

2 Likes