Culture First 2021 — Join us for our first-ever virtual, free event to create a better world of work — Register today →

Individual Goal setting

Does anyone have a simple way to approach individual measurement goal setting? I have plenty of experience setting SMART goals. The difficulty I have is helping staff set goals that are not BAU or not part of the daily job. Should individual measurement goals include BAU type goals?

Hey Peter, OKRs are a great model that we work with. More info over here. Re: your question: Should individual measurement goals include BAU type goals? – imo, yes!

Hey Peter, I’d suggest rethinking the feedback process and ongoing calibration than sweating the goals. If you’re working individually (not in terms of setting policy here), agreeing on a regular set of touchpoints to reflect, calibrate, and revise goals is going to net more change than a killer one-hour document that gets forgotten.

The process will force the BUA goals to be scrutinized regularly…allowing you to set small incremental improvements.

If you need a framework, I use a simple framework with my coaching clients: Business goals, Professional Goals, and Personal Goals, framed over one month, three months, one year. The separation of Business and Professional separates the BUA tactical To Dos and the competencies/skills that help accomplish those tactical To Dos.